Skip to content

Hüsker Dü – Zen Arcade (1984)

September 22, 2011

Husker Du - Zen Arcade

Something I learned today / black and white is always grey

A landmark album in the punk and alternative rock world, Zen Arcade was when Hüsker Dü started drifting away from a straightforward hardcore punk sound, in search of something more unique, something new. It’s a transitory album, so it’s not really what you think of when you hear ‘post-hardcore’, but by definition that’s what it is.

Beyond the genre hooplah, though, this album is a brilliant concept work about a man’s odyssey of leaving home to make his way through the many wonders, vices and dangers of an unforgiving world, only to wake up and realize it was all a dream, and everything he’s been through is still in front of him.

  1. Something I Learned Today
  2. Broken Home, Broken Heart
  3. Never Talking to You Again
  4. Chartered Trips
  5. Dreams Reoccurring
  6. Indecision Time
  7. Hare Krsna
  8. Beyond the Threshold
  9. Pride
  10. I’ll Never Forget You
  11. The Biggest Lie
  12. What’s Going On
  13. Masochism World
  14. Standing By the Sea
  15. Somewhere
  16. One Step at a Time
  17. Pink Turns to Blue
  18. Newest Industry
  19. Monday Will Never Be the Same
  20. Whatever
  21. The Tooth Fairy and the Princess
  22. Turn on the News
  23. Reoccurring Dreams

Try It

From → Albums

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: